The Hall of the Niš Symphony Orchestra, 20:00 hrs


Fatima Alieva belongs to the most prominent soloists of her generation in Russia. After having worked at Moscow Conservatory she moved to Switzerland, where she became professor’s assistant at Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana and gave concerts throughout Europe and USA. She made her solo orchestral debut at the age of 12 with Daghestan Philharmonic Orchestra (Russia) and her solo recital debut at age 14 in her native city of Makhachkala in Daghestan. “She combines Fire and Passion with sovereign creative will and technical abilities to make an irresistible piano-sorcery. Virtuosity in its best sense.” —Memminger Zeitung “[she played] with a shrewd sensitivity” and “explicit sensuality.” —Corriere della Sera Fatima has worked with the Togliatti Philharmonic Orchestra (Russia), Daghestan Philharmonic Orchestra (Russia), The “New Russia” Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble 900 (Switzerland), Croatian Radio and Television Orchestra (Croatia), the Orchestra of Italian Switzerland, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, Camerata Venia and the Minsk Philharmonic Orchestra (Belarus) under such conductors as Mladen Tarbuk, Nicholas Milton, Arturo Tamayo, Alexei Vorontzov, Andrey Galanov, Viacheslav Valeev, Gleb Skvortsov, Igor Monasherov. She has shared the stage in chamber music concerts with Alexander Kniazev, Milan Rericha, Nikolay Shugaev, Mihail Pochekin, Wolfgang Redik, and has as well performed in festivals such as Pablo Casals Festival (Spain), Incontri Musicali (Italy), Serie Smeraldo (Italy), Tarusa Festival (Russia), Lugano Musica (Switzerland), the festival “Glory to the Maestro” and the festival dedicated to Oleg Kagan (Russia). Fatima Alieva performed in Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Spain, the Czech Republic, the USA among other countries. She played in the Verdi and Gaber halls in Milano, Teatro Argentina in Rome, the Auditorio Stelio Molo in Lugano, the Geneva Hall of Frank Martin, the Tchaikovsky concert hall and Bolshoi hall of Moscow Conservatory. This season her schedule includes a concert tour in China as well as concerts at the festivals in Hungary, Belgium, Russia and the Czech Republic. The pianist is the winner of many international competitions, including the Svetislav Stancic piano competition in Zagreb (Croatia, 2007), the competition within the Rotaract youth program of the Rotary International Association (Spain, 2008), in Minsk (Belarus, 2010), in Pinerolo ( Italy, 2011), “Luciano Luciani” (Italy, 2012), the 38th International Competition in Lausanne (Switzerland, 2012), Premia Accademia (Italy, 2015). After graduating from the Academic Music School, she entered the Moscow Conservatory, where she studied with Professor Elisso Virsaladze, and the Conservatory of the Italian Switzerland in Lugano under the guidance of Professor Nora Doallo who appointed Fatima her assistant. At different times she also studied with Tatyana Strotskaya, Mikhail Lidsky, Valeriy Kastelsky. She participated in master-classes of Michel Beroff, Grant Naborre, Omero Francesch, Eteri Anjaparidze, Akiko Ebi. The performance at UNESCO headquarters in Paris pushed her for getting Master in the field of international relations that had long been of interest to the pianist.

Svilen Simeonov - conductor

Svilen Simeonov has established himself as one of Bulgaria’s foremost conductors. He has been awarded Musician of the Year Prize with Sofia Amadeus orchestra (1999) by the Bulgarian National Radio, the Crystal Lyre Award (2001) with Collegium Musicum orchestra-Bankja, and the Golden Lyre Award with Sofia Sinfonietta orchestra (2007) for high artistic achievements in the performing arts. Maestro Simeonov is the Chief Conductor of Sofia Sinfonietta orchestra, Sofia Amadeus orchestra and Vidin State Symphony Orchestra in Bulgaria and he serves as Guest Conductor at the Viennese Operetta Stage, Teatro Lirico d’Europa and Strauss Festival orchestra. Simeonov is a graduate of “Pancho Vladigerov” State Academy in Sofia, and Academy for Music and Dance in Plovdiv with degrees in clarinet and conducting. He has also completed conducting studies with Prof. Salvador Mass Conde at the Vienna Academy of Music. Simeonov has taught conducting in Sofia–Bulgaria, Yangstown-State University USA, Dana School of Music-Ohio, Thiel College PA and Westminster College Pennsylvania-USA, Seoul–Korea, Kozani and Vlasti–Greece, Festival of the Gulf–Italy, Hanoi–Vietnam. Maestro Simeonov has been hailed by the press for his performances. Bulgarian premier musical magazine Musical Horizons states: “We could feel the conductor’s suggestiveness, who managed to instill such emotional efficiency into the strings that made people hold their breath sharing the moment…Tchaikovsky’s confession (Serenade for Strings), a work of a genius, tugged at the audience’s heartstrings, who expressed its gratitude by a round of applause”. He has performed in virtually every prestigious concert hall in the world among which are: Berlin Philharmonic Hall, Musikverein the Gold Hall–Vienna, Concertgebouw–Amsterdam, Bulgaria Hall–Sofia, Seoul Art Center–Korea, Bunka Kaikan Center–Tokyo, Victoria Hall-Geneva, Ton Halle-Zurich, RAI Arturo Toscanini Hall-Torino, Palau de la Musica–Barcelona, Auditorium National de la Music–Madrid, Theater Monumental de Madrid, Teatro Alfredo Craus Las Palmas, Theater Coliseum–Lisbon, Casa de la music-Porto, Bilkent Hall–Ankara, Levent Centre–Istanbul, Sava Centre–Belgrade, Megaron Music Hall–Athens, Megaron Music Hall–Thessaloniki, Festival Hall–Osaka, Aichi-ken Arts Centre–Nagoya, Theater am Stadtgarten Winterthur, Philharmonics Hall–Wroclaw, the Novi Sad Opera House, Theater Auditorium-Cuenca, Theater Society di Mantova, Fort de France Theater–Martinique, Baalbek historical site–Lebanon, Apollon Amphitheatre–Patra, Irodio Amphitheater Athens–Greece, Amphitheater Ohrid-Macedonia, Nis concert Hall–Serbia etc. Since his appointment as a Chief Conductor (2003), Sofia Sinfonietta has been one of the most sought after Bulgarian orchestras.


Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
Piano Concerto No.1 in F# minor, op.1
Andante cantabile
Allegro vivace

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
"Swan Lake" Orchestral Suite, op.20а
Danse des cygnes
Czardas: Danse hongroise